Brown free to play against Italy

Brown free to play against Italy

Scotland hooker Fraser Brown is free to face Italy in Saturday’s final RBS 6 Nations match at BT Murrayfield Stadium, after he was cited for his tackle on Elliot Daly.

Brown was sin-binned by referee Mathieu Raynal for the challenge after consultation with television match official (TMO) Ben Skeen, however he faced an independent Six Nations Disciplinary Committee today to review the incident.

Brown accepted that he had committed an act of foul play but argued that it had not warranted a red card.

The Disciplinary Committee reviewed footage of the incident and all other evidence – as well as hearing submissions and testimony from the player and his representatives – and considered the tackle to have been dangerous, and therefore contrary to Law 10.4(e).

The Disciplinary Committee, however, found that the act of foul play would have not have warranted a red card and so the citing complaint was not upheld and therefore no sanction was imposed.

The Disciplinary Committee also considered whether or not the player, in carrying out the tackle, had infringed Law 10.4(j) but found that not all of the necessary elements for foul play under that law had been present.

Brown is therefore able to resume playing immediately.

What the laws say

  • Law 10.4 (e) – A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously
  • Law 10.4 (j) – Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that player into the ground whilst that player’s feet are still off the ground such that the player’s head and / or upper body come into contact with the ground is dangerous play.
Tags:
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.