Hogg and Russell nominated for RBS Player of the Championship

Hogg and Russell nominated for RBS Player of the Championship

Scotland backs Stuart Hogg and Finn Russell have been nominated for the 2017 RBS Player of the Championship award!

VOTE NOW – voting closes at 12 noon tomorrow (Tuesday)

Hogg – who collected the accolade last year – scored three tries in the 2017 campaign: two against Ireland – when he was named man of the match – and one against France. He also sent a long-range penalty through the sticks to open the scoring against Italy on Saturday. In spite of this, Hogg’s contribution has equally been as creator, rather than scorer, where he joined the line to put away Tim Visser against Wales, and Tommy Seymour against Italy, while also winning the aerial contest to knock the ball back to Matt Scott to score against the Azzurri.

Russell – With two man-of-the-match awards from Scotland’s home wins over Wales – in which which he scored 19 points – and Italy, Russell’s contribution to the national team’s progress was notable throughout the campaign, with his temperament and ball skills proving exceptional under intense pressure – his flat passing at pace often erring on the sublime. Furthermore, in the absence of captain and metronomic kicker Greig Laidlaw, Russell showcased another part of his armoury, kicking 7/7 penalties and 8/10 conversions with 88% accuracy.


Players at every RBS 6 Nations match this year have been awarded or deducted points based upon several performance categories, which cover all aspects of the game.

These categories are proportionately weighted by an algorithm created by Accenture, Official Technology Partner of the RBS 6 Nations.

This year, Accenture has worked closely with Accenture Analysis Team member, and former South Africa and Italy coach, Nick Mallett to draw up a shortlist of 12 players who have displayed specialist skills and outstanding ability throughout the whole Championship.

2017 RBS Player of the Championship nominees:

  • Louis Picamoles (France)
  • CJ Stander (Ireland)
  • Finn Russell (Scotland)
  • Camille Lopez (France)
  • Maro Itoje (England)
  • Owen Farrell (England)
  • Joe Launchbury (England)
  • Stuart Hogg (Scotland)
  • Conor Murray (Ireland)
  • Sergio Parisse (Italy)
  • Rhys Webb (Wales)
  • Ken Owens (Wales)

Head to www.rbs6nations.com/RBSPlayerOfTheChampionship to have the final say by voting who should be crowned the RBS Player of the Championship 2017. Voting closes at noon on Tuesday 21 March!

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.